Fail

In which my husband tries to encourage me

“Babe, you look tired.  Tired and…shiftless.”

“Tired and shiftless?”

“Yeah, tired and shiftless.”

“Shiftless.”

“Doesn’t ‘shiftless’ mean ‘in need of a pick-me-up’?”

“No! It means lazy and indolent.”

“Oh God, no, I didn’t mean that! No, you look…uh…uh,”

“Choose your words wisely.”

“You look beautiful and resplendent in that…old, blue robe that you always wear.”

“Right.”

Five minutes later…

I turn on the Keurig to make a cup of coffee feeling that familiar craving after my husband’s subtle suggestion that I look tired and in need of a pick-me-up.  I suddenly hear a sound that I can only describe as one of my kitchen appliances peeing on the counter.  I turn around and observe that I forgot to put my coffee cup under the Keurig while it was brewing my coffee.  Hot coffee is streaming all over my counter.

“OHMIGOD! I forgot to put a cup under the Keurig! I AM shiftless!”

6 thoughts on “Fail

    • I know, I know. It’s the rattiest robe. The cats follow me around wanting me to take it off so that they can sleep on it! It’s hideous, but it’s WARM. It’s freakin’ cold here.

      • Oh Lawrd! Images of me in a snuggie drinking from a sippy cup…that’s the least libidinous notion anyone could ever dream up! Can you imagine coming home to THAT? Good God!!!!!!

  1. This happens to the best of us and it’s not a sign that we are shiftless. Tired. Distracted. Overwhelmed maybe. But never shiftless. A thousand lashes to that husband of yours. Or else a dictionary for his birthday. 🙂

Share your thoughts

