Read, Watch, and Visit

This is an absolutely fascinating read although, staying true to my sadistic nature. it will make your eyes bleed and brain hurt.  One of the newer hypotheses regarding schizophrenia is that it’s actually neurodevelopmental in nature meaning that something went wrong during the first or second trimester of fetal development, thus, setting up the infant for schizophrenia later in life.  Exposure to influenza, for example, during the first or second trimester can increase the risk of schizophrenia by something like nine times (don’t hold me to that.  I might not be remembering with precision).  Anyway, this article is so worth reading.

The Neurodevelopmental Hypothesis of Schizophrenia, Revisited

Also, I tried to reblog this video (but it didn’t take) from a really lovely blog, Out of Great Need, maintained by a mother and caregiver to a daughter much like Grace.  I strongly encourage you to visit her blog.  Her posts are often very informative as well as encouraging, and, unlike mine, are not verbose at all! So, it’s a win/win for anyone who visits her.

Please take the time to watch Dr. Amador’s explanation of schizophrenia.  It’s brilliant.  His compassion, kindness, and willingness to open up about his life experience will take your breath away.  If you enjoy this twenty-minute talk, then simply look up Dr. Amador on YouTube if you want more.  He’s everywhere.

Here is a link to Dr. Amador’s LEAP Institute.  You will find a vast amount of information there as well as links to a plethora of helpful articles.  It’s so refreshing to find a professional in the field who applies hope to a schizophrenia diagnosis.  I must say, I’m really weary of clinicians giving me “the look” whenever Grace relapses or, rather, appears never to have remitted in the first place.  Thank God for hope.

Enjoy!

2 thoughts on “Read, Watch, and Visit

    • I was so blessed to watch that video today! Thanks so much for posting it! You post such great stuff. It’s just wonderful. And, likewise. I don’t know another soul in my situation. I have some wonderful friends who make a point to ask and show love, and I wouldn’t trade that for the world. That being said, shared experience has its own language. If I said, “Grace is having a bad day,” then you would know what that means on a level that I would never need to explain and all the ramifications of her bad day–how it affects the family, the environment, everything. The bone-deep emotional exhaustion that just hits out of nowhere and that weird urge to cry sometimes when you remember what they used to be like before…And the vital need to just stay present because, really, where else can you go? And all those people who judge you quietly and watch every move you make inwardly assessing you and thinking that it’s probably your fault that your child is ill now. Oh, I get it. All the way across the ether. BIG HUG! Next time I’m at Ulta, I’m thinkin’ of YOU!!!! xo

Share your thoughts

