A Supplement Worth Trying

I wanted to write a follow-up to my last post on this complementary migraine treatment:

So, does it work? In a word, yes.  There is a reason that German physicians prescribe butterbur and feverfew to migraineurs.  It is effective.  Where have I seen its effectiveness the most thus far? Premenstrual migraines.

I take three prescription medications to prophylactically manage migraines.  I have three T2 lesions on my brain resulting from twelve years of almost unmanageable migraines.  I saw another doctor yesterday about migraine management, and he said, “You are doing everything imaginable nutritionally to try to prevent and heal yourself from migraines.”

I am not fooling around.

Enter butterbur and feverfew with niacin.  Would it work?

This treatment typically takes a month to be effective.  I’ve been using it for less than one month.  This month, however, I did not experience the premenstrual migraine phenomenon which always happens.  No matter what I do, I can’t seem to prevent them, and those events are painful in a special way.  They have a different flavor (and yes, I know about estrogen dominance).

So, anecdotally, I can confirm, along with a good portion of the European medical  community, that butterbur and feverfew work! The supplement that I recommend is Preventa.  The company even sends you a migraine calendar to chart your migraines.

If you struggle with migraines and would like to try an alternative treatment or augment your current one, give this a go.  I’m seeing good results, and, coming from me, that is a dramatic statement.

 

Share your thoughts

